Distinguished Paper Award

One paper presented at the annual meeting of the Adhesion Society is selected each year to receive this award. The selection process is coordinated by the Vice President of the Adhesion Society. The selected paper has distinguished itself within this process as being outstanding in the categories of quality of research, impact on field, novelty and effectiveness of presentation. The awardee receives $1,000 and a plaque commemorating the award.

This award was established in 1999 and was supported until 2005 by the H.B. Fuller Company as a tribute to Rolf Schubert, former Vice-President of Research and Development and Chief Technology Officer for the H.B. Fuller Company.  In 2006, National Starch and Chemical Company began the support of this award.  It is now sponsored by Henkel.

Evan Breedlove received the 2022 Adhesion Society Distinguished Paper Award presented at the 2023 Annual Meeting of the Adhesion Society for the paper "What is the Modulus of a Viscoelastic Structural Adhesive".